Amy J. Peters
Amy J. Peters

Name:  Amy Jacobson-Peters, MFA, ASID, IDEC

Where I grew up: Minnesota—I was born in Rochester but moved to Mankato when I was in 6th grade and graduated from Mankato East High School.

Where I went to school: I attended William Woods College in Fulton, Missouri, for undergrad, then went to the University of Central Oklahoma for a Masters of Science, and then received a Masters of Fine Art from the Academy of Art University in San Francisco, California.

Favorite Design Style: Furniture and accessory design.  When studying interior design at UCO, I got an internship with Troy Wesnidge Furniture in Newcastle.  The position turned into a full-time job, and I ended up working at Wesnidge for six years.  We did a lot of work for the hospitality industry, especially in Las Vegas, producing unique, one-of-a-kind pieces for the high roller suites and the restaurants and lobbies.   We also designed and built furniture for Disney and the Atlantis Resort in the Bahamas, among other hotels worldwide.  In 2000 I began teaching as an Adjunct at UCO and started full-time in 2005.  I have thoroughly enjoyed teaching many different interior design aspects for the past 20 years, from hand drafting and rendering to sustainable design, furniture design, and portfolio development.

My favorite hobbies/interests are: I am a horse-person.  I love riding and competing in dressage.  I also love other outdoor activities that bring me closer to nature, like hiking, skiing, and gardening.

I'm inspired by: My MFA thesis focus was on developing office furniture for workplaces that allow pets.  Our connection to our pets and other animals and how that is reflected within interior spaces intrigues me.  Often, interiors are not just about the people who occupy the spaces, but the animals that are part of their lives.  I have two children, a daughter who is 21 and a son who is 18.  My husband and I have been married for 28 years.

Somthing People might not know about me: After graduating from college in Missouri, I moved to rural Alabama and worked on a 200+ acre horse farm.  I got to do everything from birthing new foals to training young horses to riding seasoned show horses.  It was a fantastic experience that allowed me to see a different part of the country and develop my horsemanship and riding skills.